With the ever-increasing pressures on the limited resources of our planet, there is today a recognised need to evolve from the “take-make-dispose” model to a more circular model. In the former, mankind's economic activities and lifestyles tend to deplete finite resources and create products that end up in polluting landfills and incinerators. Instead, a circular economy aims at reducing the use of finite resources and reintroducing waste in the production cycle as a raw material.

Transitioning toward a circular model requires us to act now upon the three fundamental components, water-energy-food. The inherent interconnections between these components are complex and must be identified and accounted for to avoid promoting one at the expense of another.

Organised by Cranfield’s School of Water, Energy and Environment, this conference is platform to promote collaboration between scientists and industries to explore, interrogate, and challenge ideas related to making our production and use of water, energy, and food more sustainable.


Abstract Submission:

To submit an abstract for a presentation, a poster, or the 3min thesis competition, download the following form and return it to cranWEF17@cranfield.ac.uk, before the 31 April2017.

Awards will be given to best presentation, best poster, and best 3min thesis!


About the 3 min thesis competition:

3MT logo
 

The 3 Minute Thesis (3MT) competition requires doctoral researchers to compete to deliver the best research presentation in just 3 minutes (and one slide). It is based on a concept developed by the University of Queensland which quickly spread across Australia and New Zealand, and has now gone global.

For detailed information about the 3MT competition, including tips on how to prepare, please visit

https://threeminutethesis.uq.edu.au/resources/3mt-competitor-guide

​Some examples of 3MT presentations

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0K9iYUBCG_o&t=23s

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0AR4DOs2-tY

 




Event Programme

Vincent building (52a) auditorium
Keynote speaker: Dr Doug Wilson, Director of Scientific and Evidence Services at Environment Agency (England and Wales)


09:30 - 10:00 Registration
10:00 - 10:45 Keynote speaker : Dr Doug Wilson, Director of Scientific and Evidence Services at Environment Agency (30 min + Q&A)
10:45 - 11:00 Capturing the value of the circular economy through reverse logistics Serhan Alshammari - s.alshammari@cranfield.ac.uk
11:00 - 11:15 Is Geothermal Energy a sustainable solution for future generations? Theo Renaud - theo.renaud@cranfield.ac.uk
11:15 - 11:30 Modelling innovative cooling technologies in Concentrating Solar Power – Hybrid cooling option Faisal Asfand - faisal.asfand@cranfield.ac.uk
11:30 - 11:45 Break and poster exhibition
11:45 - 12:00 Sampling of bioaerosols from composting sites using traditional and novel sampling techniques Mohanad Jawad - m.jawad@cranfield.ac.uk
12:00 - 12:15 Using chemical and molecular markers for characterising aerosols from contrasting outdoor environments Sonia Garcia Alcega - s.garciaalcega@cranfield.ac.uk
12:15 - 12:30 Ecosystems and temporal scale in the Water-Food-Energy Nexus Annie Visser - av96@hw.ac.uk
12:30 - 12:45 Reconciling competing demands for water – developing regional scale multi-sector collaborative approaches to water resources management David Haro - d.haromonteagudo@cranfield.ac.uk
12:45 - 14:00 Lunch and poster exhibition
14:00 - 14:15 A novel method for quantifying fat, oil and grease (FOG) in commercial kitchen wastewater Caroline Gurd - c.e.gurd@cranfield.ac.uk
14:15 - 14:30 Recycling water, energy and food by anaerobic digestion Ismail Haltas - ismail.haltas@cranfield.ac.uk
14:30 - 14:45 High-value compounds delivered from insects grown on waste Natalia Jawiarczyk - n.jawiarczyk@cranfield.ac.uk
14:45 - 15:00 Break and poster exhibition
15:00 - 15:45 Measuring sustainable coffee production from space – What else? Daniel Simms – d.m.simms@cranfield.ac.uk
15:15 - 15:30 Quantifying Soil Constraints to rice production Ezekiel Okonkwo - e.okonkwo@cranfield.ac.uk
15:30 - 15:45 Spatially heterogeneous tillage and soil resilience Iain Dummett - i.p.dummett@cranfield.ac.uk
15:45 - 16:00 Restoring Soil Health and Productivity of A Degraded Soil: Impact on Crop Yield Benedict Unagwu - b.o.unagwu@cranfield.ac.uk
16:00 - 16:15 Break and poster exhibition
16:15 - 17:00 3 minute thesis competition
17:00 Conference prizes, drinks and live band

Who should attend

MSc/PhD students, academics, industries

Cost

Free to attend

How to register

To register please visit Eventbrite.